Online News from Malta

MaltaMedia Online News wins e-journalism award
By MaltaMedia News
Nov 8, 2006, 11:29 CET

Email this article
Printer friendly page

For the third time in four years MaltaMedia Online News has won the e-journalism category of the Malta Journalism Awards. The final ceremony was held on Tuesday night with Robert Micallef receiving the award for his blog “Wired Temples: Malta on the Web”.

“Wired Temples”, which placed first, is a global window on Maltese culture, news, society, people, history and blogs, updated on a daily basis. This was fourth time an award in e-journalism was given as part of the Malta Journalism Awards organised by the Institute of Maltese Journalists.

Speaking of the win, Robert Micallef said "I hope that this award will give some exposure to blogging and maybe encourage more people to set up their own blogs."

The 16th edition of the Malta Journalism Awards saw 27 finalists, who were picked among 55 submissions.

The ceremony took place at the Audiovision Centre studios in Ħamrun, with the jury, composed of Dr Anna Mallia and Charles Xuereb as members, and Professor Godfrey A. Pirotta as Chairman, reading a report about the submissions and their journalistic level.

The Gold Award, which is awarded to a person deemed to have gone beyond the requirements of normal journalistic practice during his or her career, was given to Mr Paul Saliba. The Jury of the Gold Award was made up of Mr John Manduca, Mr Frank Bonello, and His Excellency the President Emeritus Prof Guido De Marco as Chairman.

This is the full list of the winners:

Print Journalism – News
First: Victor Vella (l-orizzont)
Second: Roderick James Agius (il-Mument / In-Nazzjon)
Third: Lino Bugeja (The Times)

Print Journalism - Features
First: Brandon Pisani (l-orizzont)
Second: Vanessa Macdonald (The Times / The Sunday Times)
Third: Martin Debattista (The Times)

Press Photography
First: Christian Sant Fournier (The Times)
Second: Darrin Zammit Lupi (The Times/Reuters)
Third: Rene` Rossignaud (The Malta Independent / The Times)

Overseas Assignments
First: Julia Farrugia, Joe Cachia, Joseph Fava, Pablo Micallef & Charles Ahar (Super 1)
Second: George Scicluna, Marion Zammit u Alvin Scicluna (TVM)
Third: Doris Zammit (TVM)

Broadcast Journalism – TV Script
First: Julia Farrugia and Joe Cachia, Pablo Micallef, Charles Ahar and Danjel Bugeja (Super 1)
Second: Mario Micallef (TVM)
Third: Doris Zammit (TVM)

Broadcast Journalism – TV Film
First: Tracci Team: Pablo Micallef, Charles Ahar, Julia Farrugia & Joe Cachia (Super 1)
Second: Clayton Tanti (Net TV)
Third: Marco Micallef (Super 1)

Cultural Tourism
First: Alvin Scicluna (TVM)
Second: Lino Bugeja (The Sunday Times)
Third: Robert Micallef ( with blog)

First: Robert Micallef ( with blog)
Second: Mona Farrugia (
Third: Domenic Aquilina (

Sports Photography: (New Category)
First: Darrin Zammit Lupi (The Times)
Second: Domenic Aquilina (uefa direct / The Technician)

Sports Journalism Category
First: Charles Camenzuli (Net TV)

L-Ilsien Malti fil-Gurnaliżmu
First: Alvin Scicluna (Overseas Assignment Category)
Second: Julia Farrugia & Joe Cachia (Broadcast Journalism – TV Script Category)
Third: Josianne Camilleri (Cultural Journalism Category)

See also:
MaltaMedia News wins e-journalism award
By MaltaMedia News
Nov 15, 2005, 00:15 CET

© Copyright 2006 - MaltaMedia Online Network

Top of Page

Out & About
Latest Headlines
Entertainment activities for Valletta's Notte Magica
Lively Auberge de Castille during Notte Magica
World Wind Band at Manoel Theatre
Intimate letters concerts at Auberge de Castille
Circo Bellucci extends visit "due to public demand"
Speech Level Singing coaching back in Malta
Nature Trust’s Shark Project under way
Preview Malta Song for Europe 2007 clips
Preparations underway for Tre Re – Notte Magica
President, PM receive members of the public